Make your own free website on
Rainbow Explorers
Homeschooling in AZ.
Home | Our Purpose | Becoming a Member | Contact Us | Homeschooling in AZ. | Links and Resources | New to homeschooling?

Here you can find information on the legal aspects of homeschooling in Arizona. Arizona is a fairly homeschool friendly state. The requirements for homeschooling here are minimal. However, we need to stay aware and active politically to keep it that way.

Summary of homeschool law

If you desire to start home schooling and your child is 6 years of age as of September 1st or is less than 16 years of age then proceed with the following:

  • File with the County School Superintendent an affidavit of intent and a photocopy of the certified copy of the child's birth certificate within 30 days of starting home schooling.
The affidavit should include: childs name, date of birth, current address of school, and name, telephone, & address of parent.
If you do not wish to begin formal education until 8 years of age, note this on the home school affidavit.

  • Provide instruction in reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science.
  • Notify the County School Superintendent within 30 days of terminating home schooling.

Home schooled children returning to the public school system shall be tested by the school to determine their appropriate grade level.

Home schooled student may be eligible for Regent Scholarships.

Home schooled children who reside within the attendance area of a school shall be allowed to participate in interscholastic athletic competition on behalf of the school.

(NOTE: this abbreviated summary doesn't constitute a legal opinion)


Homeschool Links

Arizona Legislature

Arizona revised statutes on homeschooling

Arizona homeschool affidavit

Arizona Families for Home Education

National African-American Homeschoolers Alliance

African-American Unschooling

Home School Legal Defense Association


Let us know if there are any web sites that you enjoy and we'll consider including them on this page!